Club Sponsor EHB ClubsFirst Single System

Adult Awards 2012/13


Adult Awards 2012/13

Maidstone Hockey Club members came together for a night of celebration and to recognize those individual award winners for the season. A glittering black-tie event was started with tapas, sangria and paella.  Awards were presented by the Club Chairman, Roger Daniels, and the two Hockey Managers – Wendy Emery and Matt Evans.  Afterwards there was dancing into the night. The Clubperson of the Year Award (for all round services to the club) was shared between Louise Cassey and Jimmy Christmas who have both made outstanding contributions.  Louise is Fixture Secretary for the Ladies’ section, plays for the Ladies’ 1s, coaches the Juniors on Sundays and lead the girls u14s to their Kent victory.  Jimmy is Men’s 1s player, coaches the Ladies’ 2s (who lost out on promotion by just 1 point), the Men’s lower club and also the Juniors on Sunday.  They support all club events and both thoroughly deserve the accolade. Club Awards were:-
Ladies’ Player of the Year              Jenny Vincent
Men’s Player of the Year                Nick Leatherbarrow
Ladies’ Most Improved Player         Emma Waters
Men’s Most Improved Player           James Beacon
Ladies’ Young Player of the Year     Emily Beacon
Men’s Young Player of the Year       Rob Clarkson
Ladies’ Most Goals                       Brogan Cummins
Men’s Most Goals                         Nigel Swaffer
                                              &  Iain Brine Clubperson of the Year   Louise Cassey & Jimmy Christmas Individual Team Player of the Year Awards:        Ladies’ 2nds                  Donna Shalders      
Ladies’ 3rds                   Jaime Cronk       
Ladies’ 4ths                   Corrie Piper       
Men’s 2nds                    Mike Smith       
Men’s 3rds                     Nick Cornford       
Men’s 4ths                     Chris Smith       
Men’s 5ths                     Dominic Angear       
Men’s 6ths                     Simon Emery       
Men’s 7ths                     Jason Dann      5 members were recognised for their long years of dedicated service to the club:-
Stephen Rawlings (LVP) - has been a stalwart since the 1970s, pool umpire, many jobs, but particularly the bar.
Nigel Swaffer (LVP) - Supported the club for more than 40 years, Men's 1s captain in the 70s and 80s, and prolific goalscorer (1000 qualifying goals!).
Richard Martin (LVP) - 50 years playing with the club, numerous supportive roles, now responsible for pitch & clubhouse.
Phillip Brown (LVP) - 40 years in the club, numerous supportive roles, but especially press-ganging of players, through threats, bribery, & rewards.
Wendy Emery (VP) - 30 years in the club, numerous support roles, especially the Juniors, and now Hockey Manager-Ladies. Congratulations to them all. 

Share this Page

2012/13 News Headlines

21/05/2013 - Adult Awards 2012/13
12/05/2013 - Junior Awards 2012/13
14/04/2013 - VPs Lunch
16/03/2013 - Mixed National Success
26/01/2013 - MHC - Club of the Year
24/08/2012 - Beth Storry Joins In
24/08/2012 - Hockey House Success